Tinubu Appoints CBN’s Cardoso As Chairman, Monetary Policy Committee

CBN Governor, Yemi Cardoso

The Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Yemi Cardoso has been appointed as the chairman of the Monetary Policy Committee of the apex bank by President Bola Tinubu.

The appointment which was confirmed on wednesday in the Senate, according to Tinubu’s directive, was read on the floor at plenary.

The Monetary Policy Commitee is set to hold its first meeting under Cardoso, between February 26 and 27.

A letter constituting the Monetary Policy Committee reads “In accordance with the provisions of Section 12 of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Act 2007, I am pleased to present for confirmation by the Senate the appointments of the under-listed 12 persons as chairman and members of Monetary Policy Committee of the Central Bank of Nigeria.

“Olayemi Cardoso, CBN governor, chairman; Muhammad Sani Abdullahi, CBN deputy governor, member, Bala M. Bello, CBN deputy Governor (member), Emem Usoro, CBN deputy governor (member), Philip Ikeazor, CBN deputy governor (member), Lamido Yuguda, DG Securities and Exchange Commission (member), Lydia Shehu Jafiya, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance (member), Muritala Sabo Sagagi, CBN director (member), Alloycius Uche Odu (member), Aku Pullen Odukemelu (member), Mustapha Akinwunmi (Member) and Bamidele A.G. Amuh (member)”

Senate President Akpabio referred the letter to the Senate Committee on Finance, Banking, Insurance, other Financial Institutions to effect further legislative action and report back in one week.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here