Edo Deputy Gov, Philip Shaibu Faces Fresh Probe As Court Constitutes New Seven-member Panel


The Chief Judge of Edo State, Justice Daniel Okungbowa, has set up another seven-member panel to investigate allegations against Deputy Governor Philip Shaibu. The allegations were raised in a March 6, 2024, impeachment notice issued by the 24-member Assembly.

In a statement released on Monday, the Chief Registrar of the Edo High Court, Mr. B. O. Osawaru, announced the constitution of the panel, noting that Justice S.A. Omonua (rtd.) would lead the investigation. This move is in accordance with Section 188 (5) of the 1999 Constitution of Nigeria (as amended).

The other members of the new panel include Prof. Theresa Akpoghome, Oghogho Ayodele Oviasu, Dr. Andrew Oliha, Idris Abdulkareen, President Aighokhian, and Mariam Erakhoba Ilavbare.

The decision to constitute the panel came after Edo lawmakers passed a resolution on March 19, with 19 out of 24 members directing the Chief Judge to set up the seven-member panel.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here