Tinubu Sacks Service Chiefs,others, appoints replacements


President Bola Tinubu has retired all Service Chiefs, Advisers, and the Comptroller-General of the Nigerian Customs Service from service. Their replacements have subsequently been announced.

According to a statement by Willie Bassey, the Director of Information, Office of the Secretary-General to the Federation, Nuhu Ribadu, who was only last week appointed as the Security Adviser to the President, is now the National Security Adviser. Furthermore, Major General Christopher Musa, former Theatre Commander, Operation Hadin Kai, would replace General Lucky Irabor as the Chief of Defence Staff.

The reshuffle will also see Major General T. A Lagbaja replacing Lieutenant General Farouk Yahaya as the Chief of Army Staff. Meanwhile, Rear Admiral E. A Ogalla takes over from Vice Admiral Awwal Gambo as the Chief of Naval Staff, and Air Vice Marshal H.B Abubakar replaces Air Marshal Oludayo Amao as the Chief of Air Staff.

President Tinubu also officially approved DIG Kayode Egbetokun as the new Acting Inspector-General of Police, while Major General EPA Undiandeye has been appointed as the Chief of Defence Intelligence.

Appointment of other military officers in the Presidential Villa, include Maj. Isa Farouk Audu as the Commanding Officer, State House Artillery with Capt. Kazeem Olalekan Sunmonu appointed Second-in-Command, State House Artillery, while Maj. Kamaru Koyejo Hamzat has been assigned as the Commanding Officer, State House Military Intelligence. Maj. TS Adeola and Lt. A. Aminu are the Commanding Officer, State House Armament, and Second-in-Command, State House Armament, respectively.

Adeniyi Adewale has also been appointed as the Acting Comptroller General of Customs. The President has equally approved the appointments of Hadiza Bala Usman as Special Adviser, Policy Coordination, and Hannatu Musa Musawa as Special Adviser, Culture and Entertainment Economy. Other appointments include Senator Abdullahi Abubakar Gumel as Senior Special Assistant, National Assembly Matters (Senate), and Honourable (Barr) Olarewaju Kunle Ibrahim as Senior Special Assistant, National Assembly Matters (House of Representatives).

The appointed Service Chiefs, the Inspector-General of Police, and the Comptroller General of Customs are to act in their positions, pending their confirmation in accordance with the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here