Kwara LG Elections: Free, fair primaries produces APC candidates.



*as majority of councils adopt consensus option*.

The activity stage is now fully set for the APC inclusion in the forthcoming local government council polls in Kwara State by the conclusion of the party’s primary elections for its chairmanship and councillorship positions in its 16 local government councils, last Saturday.

The party’s Publicity Secretary, Alhaji Sulyman Buhari, in a statement, said that the party was ready for the council polls scheduled for 18th of November, 2017.

“On Saturday, our party held free, fair and credible primary election across the local government areas in Kwara State.

“We are delighted to note that party members conducted themselves peacefully and the primary election held in the respective councils under peaceful atmosphere.

“Prior to the primary election, the party leadership had advised aspirants to consider the option of consensus arrangements and the party is pleased to note that many councils embraced the consensus option. For Baruteen and Offa LGAs, the aspirants could not agree on consensus building. Therefore, the party decided to conduct primary elections for the aspirants. While primary election has been successfully conducted in Baruteen LG, the party is aware of some issues from Offa LG. The party wishes to emphasise that it is mandatory for all aspirants and stakeholders in Offa LG to strictly adhere to the guidelines of the party on the conduct of primary election.

“With the successful completion of the primary process, the APC wishes to announce its readiness to contest and win all available seats in the forthcoming council election.

The party also released the names of the successful chairmanship candidates with their respective local government areas including Baruteen LGA – Alh Saidu Yaro Musa, Ekiti LGA – Comrade Yinka Dallas, Patigi LGA – Alh Salihu Jibril Garbi, Edu LGA – Umar Sanda Yusuf, Kaiama LG – Abdulahi Abubakar Bata, Ifelodun LGA – Fatai Adeniyi Garba, Ilorin West LGA – Hajia Omodara, Ilorin East LGA – Engr Mumeeh Lah, Ilorin South LGA –
Hajia Funmi Salau, Asa LGA –
Hajia Riskat Opakunle, Moro LGA – Eleyele, Irepodun LGA – Muyiwa Oladipo Kanu, Oke-Ero LGA – Oni Adebayo, Isin LGA – Omole, Oyun LGA – Jalala.

“The party is of the firm belief that our candidates are qualified, competent and highly-resourceful personalities that will drive developmental processes and interventions at the grassroots level. Therefore, we urge the good people of Kwara State to turn out en masse and massively vote for the All Progressives Congress in the forthcoming election”, the statement said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here