Dusk to dawn curfew imposed on six Delta communities


Udu Local Government Council authorities in Delta State have imposed a dusk to dawn curfew in six communities to check the waves of cult activities in the areas.

The communities are Ovwian town, Ekete Inland, Ekete Waterside, Owhase town, Orhunwhorhun and Express junctions as well as Mofor junction.

The Chairman of Udu Council, Hon. Jite Brown in a statement signed by Barrister Elohor Awinoron, Secretary of the Council at the end of a peace & security meeting with the Divisional Police Officer, and other sister security agencies, said the curfew will begin from Wednesday, September 18 within the hours of 6am to 9pm daily.

The Council boss said the curfew will affect all commercial vehicles including commercial tricycles and motorcycles.

Hon. Brown said any commercial vehicle, tricycle or motorcycle operating after 9pm or before 6am daily will be impounded, stressing that the operators will be made to face the full wrath of the law.

He said the security agencies have been put on red alert to enforce the curfew, adding that strict compliance would be expected by all.

The statement warned cultists to stop their nefarious activities in their own interest so as to foster peace and stability in the social and economic life of the area.

Source: Daily Post


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here